June 16, 2008 at 4:45 pm (anti-racism)

okay check out gwen iffill’s tribute to tim russert.  i know i know.  someome dies and everyone has to pretend he was a saint.  ok obviously he was no saint.  nothing close.

but i  love some of her descriptions of him:

I made my last appearance with him on Meet the Press a few weeks ago. We were talking about race in the context of this year’s presidential contest and another panelist, Jon Meacham of Newsweek, remarked that race was a subject that made white folks queasy. I countered that black folks only get queasy talking about race when they are in conversation with white folks who get queasy talking about it. Tim’s eyes twinkled when he looked at me. He absolutely loved that I was telling him something he had not thought of before.

I never minded talking about race with Tim, because he was never queasy talking about it with me.

and this description of the don imus controversy:

I felt compelled to call Tim and explain. If I come on your show, I told him, I will be forced to criticize the journalists who had enabled Imus over the years, leading up to his stunning insult of the Rutgers basketball team. Tim knew – and I knew – that Imus had insulted me too, years before. When I told Tim I didn’t feel I could come to his house and insult him, he quickly assured me that he wanted me to come and say what I had to say. People needed to hear it, he told me.

So I went, and I told him to his face that I found his defense of Imus disappointing. I got a lot of kudos for speaking truth to power that day, but the real news was that Tim allowed me to say what I had to say, knowing it would not make him look good. That does not happen a lot – in life or politics.

Leave a Reply

